Imperial College London

Imperial College London (officially The Imperial College of Science, Technology and Medicine). is a public research university located in London, England which specializes in science, engineering, medicine and business. A former college of the federal University of London, it became fully independent on 9 July 2007 as part of the celebrations of its centenary.

Imperial’s main campus is located in the South Kensington (Albertopolis) area of Central London, with additional campuses in Chelsea, Hammersmith, Paddington, Silwood Parkand Wye College. Imperial also operates the Lee Kong Chian School of Medicine in Singapore in partnership with Nanyang Technological University. Imperial has one of the largest estates of any higher education institution in the UK. Imperial is organized into four within which there are over 40 departments, institutes and research centers.

Imperial has around 13,500 students and 3,330 academic and research staff and had a total income of £822 million in 2012/13, of which £329.5 million was from research and contracts. Imperial is consistently ranked among the top universities in the world, ranking 5th in the world (and 3rd in Europe) in the 2013 QS World University Rankings and 8th in the world (and 3rd in Europe) in the 2012 Times Higher Education World University Rankings. In a corporate study carried out by The New York Times, its graduates were one of the most valued in the world. There are currently 15 Nobel laureates and two Fields Medalists amongst Imperial’s alumni and current and former faculty.

Imperial is a major center for biomedical research and is a founding member of the Francis Crick Institute and Imperial College Healthcare, an academic health science center.[16]Imperial is a member of the Association of Commonwealth Universities, the Association of MBAs, the European University Association, the G5, the League of European Research Universities, Oak Ridge Associated Universities and the Russell Group. It forms part of the “golden of British universities.

Imperial is amongst the most selective universities in the UK.[53] The overall acceptance rate to degree programmes has consistently been below 20% and, in 2009, the acceptance rate for postgraduates was 19.5% and 15.3% for undergraduates. Along with University College London and the University of Cambridge, Imperial was one of the first universities in the UK to make use of the A* grade at A Level for admissions, with engineering and physics courses requiring an A* in Mathematics. Imperial announced in 2008 that it was exploring the possibility of entrance exams to help it select the most suitable students. Since then, Imperial has been reviewing and piloting a range of assessment approaches, such as subject-specific tests, skill tests and motivation-based tests as part of enhanced interviews. The Faculty of Medicine already uses the BMATas part of the selection process.

Faculties and Departments
Imperial’s research and teaching is organised within a network of faculties and academic departments. Imperial currently has the following three constituent faculties: Imperial College Faculty of Engineering.

Imperial College Faculty of Medicine
Imperial College Faculty of Natural Sciences
The Imperial College Business School, and the Centre for Co-Curricular Studies exist as academic units outside of the faculty structure. From September 2013 the Centre for the History of Science, Technology and Medicine has moved to King’s College London, and the Translation Studies Unit has relocated to UCL. The Centre For Co-Curricular Studies provides elective subjects and language courses outside the field of science for students in the other faculties and departments.

Students are encouraged to take these classes either for credit or in their own time, and in some departments this is mandatory. Courses exist in a wide range of topics including philosophy, ethics in science and technology, history, modern literature and drama, art in the 20th century, film studies. Language courses are available in French, German, Japanese, Italian, Russian, Spanish, Arabic and Mandarin Chinese. The Centre For Co-Curricular Studies is home to the Science Communication Unit which offers Masters degrees in Science Communication and Science Media Production for science graduates.

Websites for Complete Admission / Course Guide
Following websites can be used for step by step application process. The students can get detailed information for their desired course and procedure to apply by using following websites.